close search ×
A night scene of a road in New Jersey from a driver's perspective, with blurred lights streaking past and a dashboard visible in the foreground, creating a dynamic sense of motion.

What do I do if I am Pulled Over Without a License?

If you are pulled over in New Jersey, you will likely be asked for your license and registration. So what happens if you do not have your driver’s license with you? There are multiple reasons one may not have their license or a valid license. Each reason will carry a different penalty. Read on for more information regarding driving without a license and what you need to know if you are pulled over.

What are the Different Types of Unlicensed Drivers?

  • License not in possession
    • Sometimes, you leave the house and forget to take your wallet with you, accidentally leaving your license behind. If you are found driving without a license but can prove that you do have a valid driver’s license, you may have to pay a small fine. This violation carries a $150 penalty. A traffic violations attorney will attempt to reduce or remove this fine.
  • Driving without a valid license
    • In some cases, someone is found to be driving without ever having obtained a valid license. This is dangerous and has much more serious penalties. In this case, you may face fines of $200 to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. If convicted, you will also be prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license for at least 180 days.
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license
    • Having your license suspended or revoked usually means you have engaged in some dangerous behavior, resulting in the suspension of your license. If you are caught driving anyway, you will face a $500 charge. If you are caught for a second time, you will face a $750 fine and one to five days in jail. Anyone convicted of a third or subsequent offense may face a $1,000 fine and ten days in jail.

If you are pulled over and you are found to be without a license for any of the above reasons, you will want to contact a skilled traffic violations attorney.

New Jersey’s New Law Regarding Teens

There are a few exceptions to the laws regarding unlicensed drivers. For example, New Jersey just passed a new law stating that teens who pass the road test will be able to use their validated permits as a license for a temporary period. This law has been created to avoid long lines at the MVC during the coronavirus pandemic.

If you or a loved one is charged with driving without a license, call our firm today to explore all of your options.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by