New Jersey to Update Its DWI Laws

New Jersey has recently made a major change in its DWI laws, set to take effect on December 1, 2019. If you are someone who has been charged with a DWI, or are just curious to learn more about the change, please read on.

What has changed in the new DWI law in New Jersey?

New Jersey has now changed the law by reducing the first-offense license suspension penalty, and replacing it with a mandatory ignition interlock device installation: If this is your first-offense DWI with a blood alcohol content between .08% and 0.10%, you may face the following consequences:

  • Mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device for 3-6 months
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time

However, blood alcohol content has a significant impact on the penalties you face, so if you were arrested with a blood alcohol content between 0.10% and 0.15%, you will face a license suspension of 45 days and will have to install and use an ignition interlock device for 6 months to a year. If you are pulled over and have a blood alcohol content over 0.15%, you must install and use an ignition interlock device for 12-18 months and have your license suspended for 90 days.

What are the consequences of a second DWI offense within 10 years?

The penalties for a second DWI offense within 10 years are as follows:

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 2-year loss of license
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI offense in New Jersey?

The consequences of a third or subsequent DWI offense are severe, so you must hire an experienced attorney as soon as you can. They are as follows:

  • Up to 180 days of jail time
  • A 10-year loss of license
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs